Skip to product information
1 of 1

Chain Smoking Records

Brad Fielder: Welcome to New Hoyle CD

Brad Fielder: Welcome to New Hoyle CD

Regular price $10.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Released December 3, 2021


1. Intro

2. It's As Easy As That

3. Goose On The Loose

4. If It Weren't For Myself, I'd Be OK

5. Forgetter's Prayer

6. Old Brown Dog

7. Interlude

8. Some Old Fart's Toolbox

9. Roll On Buddy

10. Skinny & Stinky Old Henry

11. Moteezie Blues

12. Little Man



Tom and Carol Fielder, my grandparents, made their home in northwest Oklahoma near the town of Ames in Major County. From George H. Shirk’s Oklahoma Place Names, I learned that prior to 1902, that tiny berg was called Hoyle, after Hoyle Creek which is a tributary to the Cimarron River. As my mind wandered over the decades of my own life, and I came to be a writer of songs tinged with nostalgia, it entered my artist’s narrative that Hoyle is not a place lost to time. New Hoyle exists wherever I am, and you will come to know that place when you listen to these recordings, Welcome to New Hoyle. Mostly written and polished in a Norman, OK house built in 1904 and torn down in 2021, these songs are another installment in the chronicles of New Hoyle, a place with no location and a time with no frame.
In the third week of August, 2021, the human population of New Hoyle (Boudreaux the dog stayed home) drove the van to Bristol, VA, for the opportunity to record with Jon Atkinson at BigTone Records. Kansas City musicians The Matchsellers, Andrew Morris and Julie Bates (banjo/mandolin/guitar and fiddle), and Norman sousaphonist Charley Reeves rounded out the band of long time New Hoyle residents. All three lent their fine playing, as well as  arranging prowess to the album. Tracked live to mono tape on vintage audio gear from the golden age of radio, each take was the final mix. Recording in the undisputed birthplace of country music was intentional, as the aim of this project was to make these songs come alive in a way that fully acknowledges their origins. Welcome to New Hoyle. 

Brad Fielder - vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo
Charley Reeves - sousaphone
Julie Bates - fiddle, vocals
Andrew Morris - banjo, mandolin, guitar, vocals
Jon Atkinson - engineer

all songs written by Bradley Allan Fielder (BMI)
except Roll On Buddy (trad.)
all songs arranged by Fielder, Reeves, Bates, Morris
recorded live direct to mono tape at Bigtone Records in Bristol, VA, August 18 & 19, 2021
mixed and mastered by Jon Atkinson
photography by Doug Hill
layout by Brad Fielder
View full details